Panel of government forms for the urban plan at J&K

Jammu Tawi, March 28: The government on Monday constituted a divisional level steering committee for the formulation and implementation of the Town Planning Schemes (TPS) for the divisions of Jammu and Kashmir.

Under the chairmanship of the Divisional Commissioner of Jammu and Kashmir, the committee was tasked to prepare a town plan for the identified areas in the Jammu and Kashmir divisions and submit it to the government within the stipulated time.

He was also responsible for the implementation of the approved urban plan in the field, including the formation of the special purpose vehicle for its successful implementation, in accordance with a government order, a copy of which belongs to us.

Its terms of reference include the preparation of the terms of reference for hiring the consultant; Drafting of legislation for the implementation of local land use and urban planning schemes after evaluation of the various legislations relating to the management, development and control of land in urban areas and coordination with various agencies for collection of data and validation/approval of the conceptual designs/orders, in addition to the estimate of the costing and the convergence of the components of the project.

Jammu Committee is headed by Divisional Commissioner as Chairman and its members include Deputy Commissioner (relevant), Commissioner, JMC, Managing Director, Smart City Jammu,

Vice Chairman, Jammu Development Authority, Special Secretary (Law), Department of Housing and Urban Development, Director Land Records Jammu, Chief Urban Planner, Jammu (Member Secretary), Professor Dr. PSN Rao (Director, School of Planning and Development Architecture, New Delhi), Paresh Sharma, Chief Urban Planner (Retd.) Gujarat, and KK Pandey (Centre for Urban Studies, IIPA)

Kashmir Division Committee includes Kashmir Divisional Commissioner as Chairman and members include Deputy Commissioner (concerned), SMC Commissioner, Managing Director of Smart City Srinagar, Deputy Chairman of Lake Conservation and Management Authority, Vice Chairman of Srinagar Development Authority, Special Secretary (Law), Housing & Urban Development Department, Director Land Records, Srinagar, Chief Town Planner, Kashmir and Prof. Dr. PSNRao (Director, School of Planning and Architecture, New Delhi), Paresh Sharma, Chief Town Urbanner (Retd.) Gujarat and KKPandey (Centre for Urban Studies, IIPA).